Your question: When was the Myanmar Constitution written?

How do I cite the Constitution of Myanmar?

Citation Data

  1. MLA. Maung Maung, U, 1925-1994. Burma’s Constitution. The Hague :M. Nijhoff, 1961.
  2. APA. Maung Maung, U, 1925-1994. ( 1961). Burma’s Constitution. The Hague :M. Nijhoff,
  3. Chicago. Maung Maung, U, 1925-1994. Burma’s Constitution. The Hague :M. Nijhoff, 1961.

How was Myanmar formed?

Independence (1948–1962)

On 4 January 1948, the nation became an independent republic, under the terms of the Burma Independence Act 1947. The new country was named the Union of Burma, with Sao Shwe Thaik as its first president and U Nu as its first prime minister.

What does the word constitution?

1a : the basic principles and laws of a nation, state, or social group that determine the powers and duties of the government and guarantee certain rights to the people in it. b : a written instrument embodying the rules of a political or social organization.

Who is the head of state in Myanmar?

President of Myanmar

President of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar
Incumbent Myint Swe (Acting) since 1 February 2021
Style His Excellency (formal)
Member of Cabinet National Defence and Security Council
Residence Presidential Palace
THIS IS INTERESTING:  How can I import Indonesian to Malaysia?

Who wrote Myanmar constitution?

The 1947 constitution was drafted by Chan Htoon and was used from the country’s independence in 1948 to 1962, when the constitution was suspended by the socialist Union Revolutionary Council, led by military general Ne Win. The national government consisted of three branches: judicial, legislative and executive.

Who founded Myanmar?

Sein Mya Maung. were most important negotiators and leaders of the historical pinlon (panglong) Conference negotiated with Burma national top leader General Aung San and other top leaders in 1947. All these leaders decided to join together to form the Union of Burma.

What was Myanmar’s name before 1988?

The choice of names stems from the existence of two different names for the country in Burmese, which are used in different contexts. The official English name was changed by the country’s government from the “Union of Burma” to the “Union of Myanmar” in 1989, and still later to the “Republic of the Union of Myanmar”.

What was Myanmar’s government in 2011?

These reforms include the release of pro-democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi from house arrest and subsequent dialogues with her, establishment of the National Human Rights Commission, general amnesties of more than 200 political prisoners, institution of new labour laws that allow labour unions and strikes, relaxation …

What is the oldest constitution in the world?

Written in 1787, ratified in 1788, and in operation since 1789, the United States Constitution is the world’s longest surviving written charter of government.

Who wrote the Constitution?

At the Constitutional Convention on September 17th, 1787, James Madison, known as the Founding Father formatted and wrote what we know as the US Constitution. All fifty-six delegates signed it, giving their unyielding approval.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Who wrote the Filipino dictionary?

Which is the first written constitution in the world?

The Constitution of San Marino might be the world’s oldest active written constitution, since some of its core documents have been in operation since 1600, while the Constitution of the United States is the oldest active codified constitution.

Who is the king of Myanmar?

Thibaw Min

Thibaw သီပေါ‌မင်း
Father Mindon Min
Mother Laungshe Mibaya
Religion Theravada Buddhism

Which is capital of Myanmar?

Nay Pyi Taw, (Burmese: “Abode of Kings”) also spelled Nay Pyi Daw or Naypyidaw, city, capital of Myanmar (Burma).

Who is the first prime minister of Myanmar?

Prime ministers of Burma / Myanmar (1948–present)

No. Name (Birth–Death) Political party
1 U Nu ဦးနု (1907–1995) Anti-Fascist People’s Freedom League
2 Ba Swe ဘဆွေ (1915–1987) Anti-Fascist People’s Freedom League
(1) U Nu ဦးနု (1907–1995) Anti-Fascist People’s Freedom League