Your question: Is Kuala Lumpur a region?

How many regions are in Malaysia?

Administrative divisions. Malaysia is a federation of 13 states and three federal territories. These are divided between two regions, with 11 states and two federal territories on Peninsular Malaysia and the other two states and one federal territory in East Malaysia.

Is Malaysia a country or region?

Malaysia, country of Southeast Asia, lying just north of the Equator, that is composed of two noncontiguous regions: Peninsular Malaysia (Semenanjung Malaysia), also called West Malaysia (Malaysia Barat), which is on the Malay Peninsula, and East Malaysia (Malaysia Timur), which is on the island of Borneo.

Is Kuala Lumpur a country or city?

Kuala Lumpur is the capital and the largest city of Malaysia. Kuala Lumpur is one of the three Malaysian Federal Territories. It is an enclave within the state of Selangor, on the central west coast of Peninsular Malaysia.

Is Selangor a region?

Selangor, region of western West Malaysia (Malaya), occupying part of a coastal alluvial plain on the Strait of Malacca. In 1974, a 94-square-mile (243-square-kilometre) portion of Selangor, centring on Kuala Lumpur, was designated a wilayapersekutuan (federal territory).

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Did the Viet Cong have helicopters?

Is Kuala Lumpur in West or East Malaysia?

It consists of the Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak, as well as the Federal Territory of Labuan. … While West Malaysia contains the country’s major cities (Kuala Lumpur, Johor Bahru, and Georgetown), East Malaysia is larger and much more abundant in natural resources, particularly oil and gas reserves.

What are the two region of Malaysia?

The country of Malaysia is two separate areas of land known as Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia. The two regions are separated by the South China Sea by about 400 miles.

Is Kuala Lumpur a state?

Kuala Lumpur is one of the three federal territories of Malaysia, enclaved within the state of Selangor, on the central west coast of Peninsular Malaysia.

Kuala Lumpur
Establishment 1857
City status 1 February 1972
Transferred to federal jurisdiction 1 February 1974

What continent is Kuala Lumpur in?

Malaysia’s capital city, Kuala Lumpur, is a UNESCO World Heritage City. Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy situated in South East Asia.

Is Malaysia in the southern hemisphere?

Malaysia is a Southeast Asian country located in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. The South China Sea separates Malaysia into two regions: Peninsular Malaysia (West Malaysia) and East Malaysia.

What are the 14 states in Malaysia?

States of Malaya

State Capital Head of state
Johor Johor Bahru Sultan
Kedah Alor Setar Sultan
Kelantan Kota Bharu Sultan
Malacca Malacca City Yang di-Pertua Negeri (Governor)

What are the 13 states in Malaysia?

(1) The Federation shall be known, in Malay and in English, by the name Malaysia. (2) The States of the Federation shall be Johore, Kedah, Kelantan, Malacca, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Penang, Perak, Perlis, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor and Trengganu.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Can I go to college without senior high Philippines?

What is the area of Kuala Lumpur?

However, there are also highly urbanised and populated areas that do not have city status but are sometimes colloquially also referred to as cities.

Cities of Malaysia.

Name Petaling Jaya
State/FT Selangor
Local government(s) Petaling Jaya City Council
Chartered 20 June 2006
Population (2010 Census) 613,977

Is Selangor a district?

Selangor is divided into 9 districts namely Sabak Bernam, Kuala Selangor, Hulu Selangor, Petaling Jaya, Klang, Kuala Langat, Hulu Langat and Sepang.

What are the 9 districts of Selangor?

The nine districts are Hulu Selangor (HS), Gombak (G), Hulu Langat (HL), Kuala Langat (KL), Kuala Selangor (KS), Petaling (P), Klang (K), Sabak Bernam (SB) and Sepang (S).